Thank you, Astro, for framing this up. Andrew Murray’s quote sits in a case next to my desk—beckoning me to heed its wisdom.

On Jan 2, 2008, Astro wrote:

I’ve been sharing this with some friends in the program, some of you have probably read this. I keep this taped up next to my bathroom mirror, it’s become my mission to start each day in complete peace. Yesterday my pink cloud turned black (yep, the good times shall pass too!) but I’m working through it with the help of God and AA.  Enjoy……. On his desk, Dr. Bob had a plaque defining humility:

“Perpetual quietness of heart. It is to have no trouble.  It is never to be fretted or vexed, irritable or sore;  to wonder at nothing that is done to me, to feel nothing  done against me. It is to be at rest when nobody praises  me, and when I am blamed or despised, it is to have a  blessed home in myself where I can go in and shut the  door and kneel to my Father in secret and be at peace,  as in a deep sea of calmness, when all around and about  is seeming trouble.” 

From: “Dr. Bob and the Good Old timers”, page 222, first written  by Andrew Murray, a So. African religious leader, ca. 1828-1917.

“Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty, and well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming, *WOW, What a ride*!”

